How do you replace meat in your diet if you can’t eat soy?

TMI Friday, I don’t often post personal things, but this is just something that affects my life as a whole and couldn’t find the right forum online to search more about this. It’s about developing allergies as an adult, and diets (NOT dieting! I’m against dieting, but diets, you know, the stuff that you eat regularly is your diet)

I wonder if there are any vegetarians or food / diet connoisseurs reading this:

I might have developed an allergy to soy 😦

I’ve been mostly vegetarian (from strictly vegan to not eating red meat, and anything in between) all my teen and adult life, but only found soy products a few years ago. I just never liked the texture of tofu, the idea most of it is GMO and the fact “meatless meatballs” and soy grains only got into this distant land of Finland maybe just ten years ago anyway.

Nowadays, I eat soy in all forms from milk, flour, and grains as it’s relatively cheap and fills your stomach very well.

…and at the same time, for the last couple of years, I’ve been wondering, why I have constant stomach pain, and why has my formerly nice skin gone bad. I can count the zits I had in my teens with the fingers of one hand (two. I had TWO zits in six years of our high school) but the last couple of years, almost always a bump or two somewhere on my face. Not. Nice.
I just thought, maybe my bad skin is due makeup? I do have your regular super sensitive nordic fair skin, can’t wear nickel jewelry or use fabric softeners on my laundry. So, I stopped wearing make up foundation. Nothing changed. Well, not for me, maybe for others who had to see my bad skin uncovered… I thought, maybe it’s gluten or lactose that causes stomach pain, as the media today is so eager to tell us that both wheat and milk is bad – the two ingredients, that historically speaking, made our society as we know it, possible… So I’ve switched to lactose free milk or soy milk… and never really ate white flour bread or buns anyway (I love rye bread, and maybe I’m weird but I’ve never liked buns or cupcakes…).

No change. I even joked to my mother that maybe I’m having pimples as an adult because of a really early menopause. She didn’t laugh, as she’s not yet having it either and I guess felt a bit old for me saying that…

The soy being the culprit hit me only just now. Because I have been ill for almost a month, so I hadn’t eaten much of anything, or used any skincare products, lived mostly on porridge and tea, and my skin was looking healthy, stomach was fine.

Then, yesterday, I made some muffins with mostly soy flour. And within few hours, the skin on my face, was again itchy and red. And I was in pain..

So I guess, I might be allergic to soy.

But, I can’t eat meat, mostly because ethical reasons, but partly because when I do eat meat (I just can’t resist smoked reindeer thanks to my lappish mom… it’s both ethical and tastes too good…), I get horrible stomach pain!

What can you eat if you avoid meat but are allergic to soy?
Is there anything else available, that contains B12 vitamin and protein, while being affordable to add to your regular diet?

12 thoughts on “How do you replace meat in your diet if you can’t eat soy?

  1. Yeast has the vitamin; peanuts, dry beans, peas, have protein. Oat meal – I add water and peanut butter to it, taste good. If you need more ideas let me know

  2. Beans. Lentils, chickpeas, black beans, red kidney beans, white kidney beans etc will all become your best friends. They have a lot of protein and, depending on the beans, can be really versatile. I eat soya sometimes, but I eat beans far more and there are some great recopies you can make with them. Also nuts are really good, as are seeds and green leafy vegetables. Soya can be really good, but you don’t need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

