Making your own head sculpts?

where do you find dolls with this sculpt?

where do you find dolls that have faces this charming?

Have you ever looked at your dolls and figurines, and thought they lack charisma? If only they’d have an unique face. Not just repainted, but sculpted.

This video makes sculpting human heads seem so easy…

the best I could do with air dry clay - Professor Snape figurine I made 13 years ago :D

the best I could do with air dry clay – Professor Snape figurine I made 13 years ago 😀

Years ago, I bought a set of ‘polymer clay’ from a hobby store. I’ve always loved working with real clay, find it relaxing and easy to work with, but the fact you have to find ceramic oven to burn your work is a drawback. Air dry clay is nowhere near as lovely material, it is too stingy (is that a word?) dries too quickly, and seems to be only suitable for bigger, rough works. At least I could never get much detail with it.

I’d rather save my money from buying air dry clay (that sometimes has already dried inside the package!) and make “Taikataikina” salt dough (salt+flour+water) it has about the same qualities as air dry clay, but a lot cheaper, non-toxic (unless you eat so much the salt may cause you to feel sick) and even vegan, organic and gluten free depending on the flour you use 😛 and if you bake and use sealant on your work, it will last years! If you don’t, it will get mold one day…

Babbling… back to POLYMER CLAY

After buying the hobby shop clay set,  I thought it was dreadful to work with, nothing came out like I wanted it to, and even baked, it looked like rubbery play dough.

Tossed them aside, and forgot about it.

Then, I stumbled upon another time lapse tutorial that came out as a very beautiful, realistic miniature things…
I also saw wonderful pieces of art, very detailed miniature mermaids and fairies that claimed to be made out of polymer clay!
Wondered, how on earth do they manage to work  that awful stuff like that!

Saw that the discussions mentioned, that different clays have different qualities. Fimo is soft and flexible, Sculpey is fragile but beautiful.

So, I bought one little block of each… and was so surpised!  The truth was, the stuff I had gotten in the first place as a novice, was a really horrible quality!
I managed to make quite pretty little statue for my dollhouse from sculpey, which unfortunately fell down and broke… it is fragile after baking. The fimo things came out okay. I think, maybe, with a little patience, practice and right tools, an original head sculpt in fashion doll size might happen! The next step, obviously, is how to attach the fragile head tot the ready made bodies…

unique head sculpts, anyone?

Good luck finding ready made head sculpts to base figurines of these characters… 

Any ideas? Do you make things out of polymer clay? Feel free to post relevant links to the comments (youtube, flickr, pinteres, blog platforms… I will only publish links that is easily seen to lead to reliable sites, so please no bit.ly links and if you link to your own domain, please note so 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

