Time Management for people without bosses

I didn’t find a job or an internship for the summer, so basically un-employed now…

Ugh, anyway, no time to feel sad, on the contrary this means I have all the time for myself! Which means, the Ultimate Task of managing your own time.

Time management. Essential skill to any freelance and self-employed (and un-employed…). How to make the most of your time, when there’s no one watching after you, and you have the freedom to spend the whole day in your pajamas, watching Netflix if you want to?

When you don’t have a rigid lunch hour set for you, some days you might forget to eat or take breaks… or, you might take breaks too often, leaving you working the night away when you accidentally fell into the rabbit hole of tumblr and youtube during the day.

I found this handy tool Free College Schedule Maker .

Featured image

Scheduling… Don’t have much going on right now, a few projects I need to finish – I scheduled them in the mornings as that is the most efficient time for me. I am hoping to update youtube channel more often, so I scheduled in computer time. Also, scheduled Internet time in the lazy afternoon, so as not to waste the creative morning hours into Internet stuff. Emails can wait a few hours, I’m not a stock broker…

Don’t let the name “College” fool you, it works for any kind of schedule, whether you need to schedule time to study, or to make a time sheet for your freelance or other work. You can fill in tasks, and choose which days and hours you wish to work for certain tasks. You can set those rigid lunch and coffee breaks in there as well… Everything can be color coded.

You can print out your schedules, or if you’re on a computer all the time, then maybe use your schedule as a desktop image, to remind you what you’re supposed to be doing? You can also save the schedule in the site’s own format, so you can go back and change things easily later. Like, I forgot to schedule in the drawing time for my new blog on ridiculous trademarks, ThingsThatAreTrademarked.tumblr.com – so that can easily be added on site.

At the moment, I have only a few projects with deadlines, hopefully making some money in the future. They couldn’t have come in in a better time, really boosted my shattered self esteem 🙂

On top of that, it’s easy to schedule some fun in it as well. Like Camp NanoWriMo. I’ve started a few NaNoWriMos, but never finished. Maybe because I didn’t have a schedule?

There’s also a few playstation games I would like to continue as well, the console hasn’t been plugged in since I moved three months ago), I wonder if I should schedule in play time as well or would that feel like working 😛 

Do you have any tips on making the most of your days? Do you keep a very strict schedule, or do you go with the flow? How do you “kick yourself in the butt” on days that you feel un-inspired?

Leave a Reply

